How to Enjoy Doing Something You Hate

How to Enjoy Doing Something You Hate

Β·

2 min read

Dear readers, I finished uni and came back home for a break. But guess what comes with a break? Yep, those not-so-fun chores. πŸ˜‚ I'll admit, chores aren't exactly my idea of a good time. But you know what? I found some tricks to make them less of a drag. Here's what I did:

Dishwashing Challenge: Turn It Into a Game 🏎️🏎️

Dishwashing is usually a bit dull, right? To make it less of a chore, I turned it into a game. I set a timer for just 10 minutes and tried to beat my own record each time. ⌚ It's like racing against the clock, and trust me, it makes washing dishes kinda fun. Plus, seeing those dishes done super fast feels great.

Setting a time limit creates a sense of urgency, making the task feel more immediate and important. This urgency can trigger a physiological response, such as an adrenaline boost, which can enhance focus and productivity.

Laundry Time: Add Some Pet Fun 🐈🐈

Now, laundry is a bit of a task. But I found a way to make it a bit better. Instead of doing it alone, I brought my cat along. 😺 We turned the balcony into our laundry spot. Having a furry friend around makes chores less dull. Or, I'd turn folding clothes into a race. πŸ‘•πŸ‘• It might sound a bit silly, but it works. Racing against time or trying to beat my own folding speed made me feel like a winner. Haha!

So, here's the key: these tricks are about as simple as it gets. No complicated stuff, just easy wins. Starting small is crucial because if the starting step is hard, it requires extra motivation to start it. Most likely, some people might not wanting to start! Eventually, nothing changed. Always begin with small steps so you can keep at it.

Now, here's the experiment partβ€”I'm trying out if these tricks can make my workdays better too. Can setting timers and turning tasks into games make work more fun? That's what I'm figuring out. πŸ”₯

So, if you're stuck with chores or lots of work, give these simple tricks a try. You might discover a cool way to turn the not-so-fun stuff into something you actually enjoy. Give it a go! Meow! πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Teoh Sin Yee by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β