Revision Techniques That Are Proven to Work!

ยท

4 min read

During my fourth year at university, I finally discovered the study techniques that work best for me. ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ

The approaches that I've tried:

  • Flashcard using Quizlet

  • Summarize the notes

  • Study group

I even interviewed a few top students and tried their study techniques. ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ˜‚
(If you know her? XD)

interviewed the top student

But it did not work quite well for me. โŒ๐Ÿ˜‚

One day, I got bored while studying Supply Chain Management and decided to watch a few YouTube videos for fun. To my surprise, the video scenes stuck in my brain more than the lecture notes did, and I realized I am a visual learner. ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž

Here's how I knew that this study technique was working for me:

  • I could understand the concepts easily

  • I could recall the information during exams

  • I could explain the topics to others without difficulty

  • It sparked my curiosity to learn more about the subject

  • I enjoyed the whole process

I used this technique for two courses: AKP402 Operations Management, which was a minor course under Management, and CPC453 Computer Vision & Robotics, a mandatory course for AI students. The study techniques I used have proven to work after sitting the exam a few days ago. ๐Ÿฅณ

AKP402 Operations Management ๐Ÿ’ด

  • This course required us to know the latest news to answer open-ended questions, which made it dry and difficult. ๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ‘ป

  • I created a tailored YouTube playlist to make it more interesting and engaging.๐Ÿ“ฝ๏ธ

  • I also used ChatGPT to generate possible exam questions and get feedback on my answers.

CPC453 Computer Vision & Robotics ๐Ÿค–

  • This course is mandatory for AI students but doesn't have a physical robot to work with. ๐Ÿ˜ต๐Ÿ˜ต

  • I created another tailored YouTube playlist to better understand the concepts. ๐Ÿ“ฝ๏ธ

  • I also used ChatGPT to generate practice exam questions and get feedback on my answers.

Use ChatGPT to generate possible exam questions

1] Feed in your course outlines & lecture note outlines to ChatGPT

2] This is the prompt that I used: Create a few case study questions based on the syllabus. it's my final year exam. 50 marks per question. each question will have several sub questions from different chapter.

3] I would answer the questions and then ChatGPT would critique my answers and provide feedback. This helped me fill in the knowledge gaps and realize my blind spots. โœ…

4] Sometimes it could be a bit funny. Like chicken talks to duck. ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡ ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ All you need to do is to paste your question there, rather than ask Chatbot gives your the answers for questions 'above'. It is confused by 'above' and started to bully us.

5] We could request it to rate the answers and the mark distributions. Not to forget, ask for the full mark answer. ๐Ÿ’ฏ

Limitation of ChatGPT

It's pretty weak in the calculation. It might give you different answers to the same calculation question. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿงฎ๐Ÿงฎ

Ultimate revision formula ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

  1. Write down everything that I have learnt in 1 paper & link each topic together (Put a question mark in my brain)

  2. Quickly go through the notes that I wrote during lecture

  3. Watch videos (Increase my dopamine level)

  4. Attempt case study questions (ChatGPT will cosplay as lecturer to mark my answer) ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿซ

  5. Scan through all the lecture notes again

  6. Read the case studies & examples in textbook

  7. Sleep early ๐Ÿ›Œ๐Ÿ˜ด

  8. Wake up early & listen to music & sing (No longer refer to any notes) ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽง๐ŸŽธ

    • Please maintain a good mood!!! Have peace of mind :D
  9. Step into the exam hall confidently ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€(Understand that purpose of exam is to test our understanding of certain topics)

In addition, I didn't print out any handouts but would draw on paper if I needed to visualize concepts or calculations. Instead of memorizing formulas, I would derive the equation and understand the logic behind it.

A professor once said to me, "Learning is fun. Fun is learning." I couldn't agree more. I learned that everyone has a different way of doing revision, and it's important to keep experimenting to find out what works best for you.

If you found this article helpful, please consider supporting me by clicking the sponsor button or scanning the QR code below๐Ÿคช or sharing it with others.

It takes time to produce quality content, and your support will help me create better content in the future. (I need to some ๐Ÿ’ฐto support my final year project ๐Ÿ˜‚)

THANK YOU MY READERS !!! ALL THE BEST TO YOUR EXAM ๐Ÿฅฐ

Want to know more about me? ๐Ÿ‘‰ Teoh Sin Yee | LinkedIn

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Teoh Sin Yee by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย